Tater Tots Wrapped in Bacon (TOINK Shots)

Standard

Tater Tots wrapped in bacon to form a shot glass topped with cheese. YUM!

TOINK5

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was playing with appetizers today and this came out as my favorite. I also tried Pig Candy and Scotch Eggs (with Chorizo).

I think I’ll call these TOINK Shots. They are super easy to make.

INGREDIENTS

TOINK1

Frozen Tater Tots (thawed 10 seconds in the microwave to allow a toothpick to pierce them)

Thick cut bacon, cut in 1/2 or 1/3 slices.

Shredded cheddar or your favorite cheese

Your favorite rub – I used Dizzy Pig Raging River Rub

PREPARATION

Stabilize the Bug Green Egg at 300 degrees indirect with a foil lined plate setter, legs up.

Slightly thaw the tater tots.

Cut the bacon in half or thirds. I used 1/3 slices and it was a bit tight. 1/2 may have been better to make a better shot class for the cheese to rest in later.

TOINK2

Lay the bacon out onto a platter or cutting board. Sprinkle Dizzy Pig Raging River Rub or your favorite rub on the bacon.

Starting at one end, roll a tater tot up in a bacon slice and secure with a toothpick.

Repeat until done. I was testing appetizers, so I only made a dozen. These will be popular at a party, so you may want to make lots!

TOINK3

COOKING

Place the TOINKs on the grill, over the plate setter. Stand them on end so you can add cheese later.

TOINK4

I cooked them for about 30 minutes at 325 degrees. Then, I checked on them, rearranged a bit and cooked another 30 minutes. Your cooking time may vary. I like crispy bacon, so I cook them a bit longer.

Once the bacon looks done, add a pinch of cheese into your TOINK shot. It may be good to add a drop or two of Frank’s Hot Sauce, but I didn’t have any.

Let the cheese melt in for about 5 minutes and pull them off onto a plate. Let the TOINK Shots sit for about 5 minutes and serve.

TOINK5

These are simple to make and probably one of my favorite new appetizers!

Leave a Reply

